Order of the Arrow Awards & Vigil Nomination

Vigil Honor Nomination: 

The Vigil Honor is a high mark of distinction and recognition reserved for those Order of Arrow members who, by reason of exceptional service, personal effort, and unselfish interest have made distinguished contributions beyond the immediate responsibilities of their position or office to one or more of the following: their lodge, the Order of the Arrow, Scouting, or their council scout camp.  Under no circumstance should tenure in Scouting or the Order of the Arrow be considered as reason enough for a Vigil Honor recommendation 

A nomination will be accepted at any time, but the annual deadline for consideration for the next year is August 31 of the current year.  Access the list of Vigil eligible members here (updated monthly).  An eligible Order of the Arrow member may be nominated in two ways:

Nominations for the 2025 Vigil class are due August 31.
  1. Access a fillable PDF on the lodge website, complete it, and email it to: ammatdiio@gmail.com
  2. Complete an online version of the nomination form  

Nominate Someone Now  


Founders Award: 

Recognizes Arrowmen who have given outstanding service to the lodge. The award is reserved for an Arrowman who demonstrates that he or she personifies the spirit of selfless service, as advocated by founder E. Urner Goodman and cofounder Carroll A. Edson.

Lodges may petition the national Order of the Arrow committee to present between two and four awards annually, depending on the number of members in the lodge.

Nominate Someone Now  


Torchbearer Award:

Presented annully to no more than 3 young adult/adult members (approximately ages 25-35) who:

  1. Completed their OA induction as a youth,
  2. Have remained active after becoming adults, and
  3. Demonstrate continuous service to their Chapter and/or Lodge.

Nominate Someone Now


Arrow Seeker Award: 

Presented annually to no more than 3 outstanding new youth Arrowmen who:

  1. Completed their ordeal no more than 22 months prior to the date they are nominated, and 
  2. Demonstrate commitment to the OA through participation in their Chapter and the Lodge.

Examples of activities include (but not limited to): serving as an Elangomat, memorizing a ceremony part, helping with unit elections, regular attendance and participation at Chapter and Lodge activities, and continued Scouting advancement.

Nominate Someone Now


Harry Yoder Award:

Presented to approximately 5 youth and 5 adults who:

  1. Give exemplary, unselfish service to their Chapter and/or Lodge without seeking recognition.

Harry Yoder was a youth camp staff memebr at Treasure Island in 1915. E. Urner Goodman enlisted Harry to help prepare the council fire where the first OA ceremony took place. Although not a member of the ceremony team, Harry acted as the guide and guardian of the trail to the ceremony site, as he was the only staff person who knew where the site was located on the island. Harry continued to perform this service throughout the summer.  It was not until the last week of camp that Harry was inducted as a member of the OA after having provided the service as guide/gaurdian throughout the summer. Harry became a Vigil member and Lodge Chief, leaving a legacy of unselfish, cheerful service without any expectation of recognition.

Nominate Someone Now


Uncas & Meh-ukwa Award: 

Presented annually to no more than 3 outstanding youth and 3 outstanding adult members for their service to the Lodge or their Chapter. Recipients of this award are

  1. Dedicated members of the OA who demonstrate the principles of the obligation in their daily lives, including:
    1. Brotherhood,
    2. Cheerfulness, and
    3. Service.

Uncas and Meh-ukwa were Native American warriors who demonstrated courage.  They cast aside personal fears and prejudices for a mutual purpose that inspired peace and happiness among their people. Likewise, recipients of this award demonstrate the same: kindness and courage.  

Nominate Someone Now


Bobcat Trail Award: 

PURPOSE: The Bobcat Trail Award is an incentive program to encourage Lodge Members to be active in their Unit, Chapter, and the Lodge.

AWARD: The award is a patch. The only way to get the patch is by completing the requirements listed below.

Complete the Form